Pumpkin & Cream Cheese Dump Cake

A little out of my normal wheelhouse, but it’s fall yall! I am a living definition of basic. That means pumpkin everything. I found a couple recipes on pinterest, then I added my own flair. So let me share my recipe with you, because this is basically fall themed crack.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Dump Cake

  • 8 ounce Package of Cream Cheese
  • 3/4 Cups Powdered Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons of Milk (more or less depending on your cream cheese mix)
  • 1 (12 ounce) can of Evaporated Milk
  • 1 (29 ounce) can of Pumpkin Puree (I recommend libby’s as it is 100% pumpkin, check you label)
  • Dash of Salt
  • Vanilla (your preference, but PLEASE use the real stuff)
  • Pumpkin Spice (your preference)
  • 1 Box of Dry Vanilla Cake Mix (ignore box instructions, I use the Betty Crocker Super Moist French Vanilla cake mix)
  • 1 1/2 Stick of Butter (I use unsalted sweet cream)
  • 1 1/4 Cups White or Brown Sugar (May I suggest going half and half)
  • 4 Eggs
  • Pecans (optional)
  • Cinnamon (Your preference)
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grab a 9×13 pan because this picture is shady. It looks like I made a cute little ramekin of pumpkin stuff. This is full of lies. Use a 9×13 or you will have way too much dang pumpkin. I didn’t grease it because of who I am as a person. It didn’t stick.
  3. In a largish bowl add pumpkin puree, evaporated milk, eggs, sugar, vanilla, a dash of salt, and as much pumpkin spice as you want. Then, whip it real good, or just until it’s good an blended (bonus points if you are singing). Dump this in your pan. *Side note, I had too much filling. I put about 3/4 of this mixture in the pan and the remainder in this dainty little dish to make a mini pumpkin cake (hence the deception, I just used a little bit of the rest of the ingredients to make the baby one).
  4. In the same bowl that you just sorta rinsed out (because no one has time to wash to wash two big bowls. I mean it’s going in the oven anyway) combine cream cheese, more pumpkin spice, more vanilla, a splash of milk and powdered sugar. Whip this until it resembles cream cheese frosting. Put that into a piping bag, ziplock bag, or whatever you have. Spread this on top of the pumpkin mixture. I just kind of haphazardly pipe it in zigzags all over the pan.
  5. Next you are going to dump your cake mix on top of it all. Do not mix the layers.
  6. Take a wooden spoon, knife, or anything else kinda pokey. Make little craters for the butter all over the top of the dry cake mix. Try not to poke through to the liquid.
  7. Spoon the butter all over. Some parts will be dry. That’s okay.
  8. Sprinkle cinnamon on top for extra pzazz. For extra-extra crunch systematically place pecans on top.
  9. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until brownish on top. You will start to smell it toward the end. Stick a knife it to check it (all the usual stuff).
  10. Serve with whatever you want because it is your life. I am not going to tell you how to live. I suggest whipped cream though.

bites

Leave a Reply

